1912-2012

The College of St. Scholastica

Alternative content

Get Adobe Flash player

A Century of Saints



Stanbrook Hall

02/03/2012

Stanbrook Hall was constructed during Mother Agnes Somers' great building project in 1937, along with Rockhurst Hall, Our Lady Queen of Peace Chapel and the Library. This project was started during the depths of the Great Depression, and it is a testament to Sr. Somers' vision for the future that it happened at all.

Stanbrook was named after an abbey in England and its first students began classes in 1938. Stanbrook was a college preperatory instution for girls and its opening allowed the College to expand in Tower Hall.

The high school operated until 1967, when it closed due to declining enrollments. Cathedral High School opened in 1964 and many young girls elected to attend the new school instead of Stanbrook.

After the high school closed, the monastery moved offices and living quarters into the building, freeing up yet more space in Tower Hall for expansion of the College. An infirmary for elderly Sisters was operated on the second floor until the Benedictine Health Center was opened. 

The building was damaged on January 24, 1977 when a fire broke out in Rockhurst Auditorium during preparations for a theatre production. Stanbrook was repaired and serves as home to the St. Scholastica Monastery to this day.



Comments

Leave a Comment

 
*Name:
*Email:
(email not published)
*Comment:  
*Text Shown in Picture:
 



Faceebook Twitter YouTube LinkedIn Flickr Student Blogs